USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Fiscal Year 2021 Awards

FY21 Solicitation Phase I Awards

Topic Title Award Information
Device for Assessing Environmental Impact of Post-Consumer Waste Plastic in Highway and Airfield Materials and Pavements (21-FH1)

Optowares, Inc. - Woburn, MA
Autonomous, In-Situ Fugitive Microplastic Detector and Datalogger
PI: Noah Kolodziejski
nkolodziejski@optowares.com

In-situ Determination of Pore Solution Resistivity (21-FH2)

Callentis Consulting Group, LLC - Austin, TX
In-situ Determination of Pore Solution Resistivity
PI: Andrii Drach
andrew@callentis.io

Accelerating Performance Testing Using the Asphalt Mixture Performance Tester (AMPT) Equipment (21-FH3) Engineering & Software Consultants, Inc. - Chantilly, VA
ESCINC-SBIR 21-FH3
PI: Michael Elwardany
elwardany.michael@gmail.com
Reference Hardware for Infrastructure GPS Abnormality Detector for Connected and Automated Vehicle Applications (21-FH4)

Coherent Technical Services, Inc. - Lexington Park, MD
Assured Connected and Automated Vehicle (CV/AV) Navigation
PI: Nathan Green
nathan.green@goctsi.com


Integrated Solutions for Systems - Huntsville, AL
GPS Anomaly Detection System
PI: David Hodo
David.hodo@is4s.com

Automated Vehicles: Deployment of Traffic Warning Devices (Triangles) (21-FM1)

Creare LLC - Hanover, NH
An Automated Traffic Warning Device Deployment System for Autonomous Vehicles
PI: Benjamin Cameron
bhc@creare.com

Readiness Assessment Technology (21-FM2)

Design Interactive, Inc. - Orlando, FL
Greenlight
PI: Jeffrey Hullfish
Jeff.hullfish@designinteractive.net


Pulsar Informatics, Inc. - Seattle, WA
PVT DriveFit - A System to Deliver an Objective Quantifiable Measure of Driver Alertness
PI: Daniel Mollicone
daniel@pulsarinformatics.com

Passenger Train Exterior Side Door Safety (21-FR1) Newport Sensors, Inc. - New York, NY
Wireless Sensing and Warning System (WS2) for Passenger Train Door Safety
PI: Masato Mizuta
info@newportsensors.com
Wheel Measuring Device (21-FR2)

ADA Technologies, Inc. - Littleton, CO
Micro-Scale, High-Accuracy, Photogrammetry Equipment (MSHAPE)
PI: Karl Reinig
karlr@adatech.com


Synetics Systems Engineering - Corona, CA
Wheel Inspector
PI: Simon Bourne
ssecorp@earthlink.net

Robots for Unmanned Disinfection and Decontamination of Transit Assets (21-FT1)

Advent Innovations Limited Company - Columbia, SC
Fully Autonomous Omnidirectional Adaptive Robots for the Disinfection and Decontamination of Transit Assets
PI: Mohammadsadegh Sadatzi
saadatzims@adventinnous.com

Using Artificial Intelligence (AI) to Inspect, Repair and Sanitize Transit Vehicles (21-FT2)

Interphase Materials, Inc. - Pittsburgh, PA
Artificial Intelligence Enabled Risk Assessment Tool for Condition-Based Sanitization of Public Transit Vehicles
PI: Noah Snyder
noahsnyder@interphasematerials.com


Preteckt - Memphis, TN
Artificial Intelligence for Maintenance on Buses (AIM on Bus)
PI: Krish Inbarajan
krish@preteckt.com

Securing Safe Passage when Crossing a Roadway to Board Buses (21-NH1)

HAAS, Inc. - Chicago, IL
Child Safety Using Optical and V2X Digital Alerting Technology to Bring School Buses and Students on the Vehicle Grid for Collision Prevention
PI: Cory Hohs
cory@haasalert.com


International Electronic Machines Corporation - Troy, NY
Illuminated Virtual Crosswalk and Threat Detection System
PI: Marc Pearlman
mpearlman@iem.net

Ignition Interlock Device Data-Integrated Mobile Device App (21-NH2)

Design Interactive, Inc. - Orlando, FL
Mobile Intoxication management Tool (MIT)
PI: Brent Winslow
Brent.winslow@designinteractive.net

Lithium Ion Battery Packaging (21-PH1)

Energy Storage Safety Products International, LLC - Detroit, MI
Battery Logistics Integrated Safety System (BLISS)
PI: Ronald Butler
ron@esspi.com


Marine Fire Systems, LLC - Green Bay, WI
Active Termination of Lithium-Ion Battery Fires and Thermal Runaway
PI: Don Murray
dmurray@marinefiresystems.com

FY21 Solicitation Phase II/IIB Awards

Topic Title Award Information
Accurate and Rapid Measurement of Adsorption Capacity of Fly Ash in Concrete Mixtures (17.1-FH1)

PhosphorTech - Kennesaw, GA
Monitoring Under Geohazard Conditions
PI: Arun Thamban
Email: arun@phosphortech.com 

Rapid Assessment of Air Void System in Fresh Concrete (17.1-FH2)

Creare - Hanover, NH
Real-Time, In-Situ Measurement of Void Fraction and Specific Surface in Fresh Concrete
PI: Jed Wilbur
Email: jcw@creare.com 

Detection of THC Use in Drivers (17.1-NH1)

Giner - Newton, MA
Detection of THC Use in Drivers
PI: Dr. Badawi Dweik
Email: bdwik@ginerinc.com


Vox Biomedical - Bedford, MA 
Driver Breath Measurement of Marijuana Intoxication by Infrared Spectroscopy
PI: Dr. Kurt Linden
Email: linden@voxbiomedical.com 

Digital Application to Improve Consumers Access to NHTSA Safety Information (180-NH1) IT WORKS/Volanno – Washington, D.C.
Synoptic Approach to Harmonize Discrete Data Streams in Application Development
PI: Ankush Karnik
Email: ankush@volanno.com 
Innovative, Low-Cost Methods for Concrete Bridge Deck Assessment (190-FH2)

Transtek - Orlando, FL
Fast Track Ultrasonic Imaging of Concrete Bridge Decks Using Roller Type Array Transducers
PI: Dr. Kien Dinh
Email: transtekinternationalgroup@gmail.com 

Portable Stiffness/Elastic Modulus Measurement System (190-FR1) Earth Science Systems - Wheat Ridge, CO
Ballast Seismic Property Analyzer (BSPA) for Railway Substructure Modulus and Assessments
PI: Dr. Charles Oden
Email: coden@earthsciencesystems.com 
Cost Allocation Technology for Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (190-FT1) RLS & Associates - Dayton, OH 45439
RLS & Associates, Inc. 190-FT1 Submission
PI: Richard Garrity
Email: rgarrity@rlsandassoc.com 
Physical Intervention System for Wrong-way (20-FH1) RS Solutions - Scottsdale, AZ
RF Viper System for Wrong-Way Drivers
PI: Jay Berens
Email: jay.berens@rssolutionsinc.com 
Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System (20-FH2)

Precast Systems Engineering - Exmore, VA
Modular Lightweight Composite Deck
PI: JP Binard
Email: jp.binard@precastsystemsengineering.com 

Real-time Monitoring and Modeling of Scour (20-FH3) Genex - Wheat Ridge, CO
Advancing Bathymetry and Streamflow Survey to Real-Time Scour Prediction: An Automated Algorithm
PI: Chao Huang
Email: chuang@genexsystems.com 
AI-Aided Machine Vision for Grade Crossing Safety (20-FR2)

Wi-Tronix - Bolingbrook, IL
Artificial Intelligence for Monitoring Crossing Infrastructure and to Improve Grade Crossing Safety
PI: Jagadeeswaran Rathinavel
Email: jag.rathinavel@wi-tronix.com 

Platform Edge Proximity Detection to Prevent Inadvertent Passenger Car Door Opening (20-FR3) Newport Sensors, Inc. - New York, NY
Intelligent Door Operation System (IDOS)
PI: Masato Mizuta
Email: info@newportsensors.com 
Crushed Aggregate Gradation Evaluation System (20-FR4) Oceanit - Honolulu, HI
AIM-Rail (AI Measurements for Railroad Aggregate)
PI: Manabu (Mark) Kimura
Email: mkimura@oceanit.com 
In-Vehicle Occupant Detection System (20-NH1) Zeteo Tech - Sykesville, MD
Development of ZTF Occupant Detection System
PI: Ross Kliegman
Email: ross.kliegman@zeteotech.com 
Development and Validation of Inline Inspection (ILI) Technologies for Circumferential Anomalies and Bending Stresses (20-PH1)

Creare - Hanover, NH
Robust, Field-Ready, Inline Tool for the Accurate Measurement of Pipe Bending Stresses and Crack Detection
PI: Dr. Francisco Valentin
Email: fiv@creare.com ​​​


Jentek - Marlborough, MA
MWM Array Bending Stress and Crack Detection In-Line Inspection Module
PI: Todd Dunford
Email: Todd.Dunford@jenteksensors.com 

Internal Repair of Steel Transmission Pipelines (20-PH2)

QuakeWrap - Tucson, AZ
No-Dig Point Repair Technology for Steel O&G Pipelines
PI: Firat Sever
Email: fsever@quakewrap.com 

Geohazard Identification and Quantification for Pipeline Risk Models (20-PH3) Paulsson - Van Nuys, CA
Fiber Optic Sensors for Direct Pipeline
PI: Björn Paulsson
Email: bjorn.paulsson@paulsson.com 
Last updated: Thursday, December 9, 2021