Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Fiscal Year 2021 Awards

FY21 Solicitation Phase I Awards

Award Information
21-FH1: Device for Assessing Environmental Impact of Post-Consumer Waste Plastic in Highway and Airfield Materials and Pavements

Optowares, Inc.
Autonomous, In-Situ Fugitive Microplastic Detector and Datalogger
Woburn, MA

PI: Noah Kolodziejski
nkolodziejski@optowares.com

21-FH2: In-situ Determination of Pore Solution Resistivity

Callentis Consulting Group, LLC
In-situ Determination of Pore Solution Resistivity
Austin, TX

PI: Andrii Drach
andrew@callentis.io

21-FH3: Accelerating Performance Testing Using the Asphalt Mixture Performance Tester (AMPT) Equipment

Engineering & Software Consultants, Inc. 
ESCINC-SBIR 21-FH3
Chantilly, VA

PI: Michael Elwardany
elwardany.michael@gmail.com

21-FH4: Reference Hardware for Infrastructure GPS Abnormality Detector for Connected and Automated Vehicle Applications

Coherent Technical Services, Inc. 
Assured Connected and Automated Vehicle (CV/AV) Navigation
Lexington Park, MD

PI: Nathan Green
nathan.green@goctsi.com

Integrated Solutions for Systems
GPS Anomaly Detection System
Huntsville, AL

PI: David Hodo
David.hodo@is4s.com

21-FM1: Automated Vehicles: Deployment of Traffic Warning Devices (Triangles)

Creare LLC
An Automated Traffic Warning Device Deployment System for Autonomous Vehicles
Hanover, NH

PI: Benjamin Cameron
bhc@creare.com

21-FM2: Readiness Assessment Technology

Design Interactive, Inc.
Greenlight                               
Orlando, FL

PI: Jeffrey Hullfish
Jeff.hullfish@designinteractive.net

Pulsar Informatics, Inc. 
PVT DriveFit - A System to Deliver an Objective Quantifiable Measure of Driver Alertness
Seattle, WA

PI: Daniel Mollicone
daniel@pulsarinformatics.com

21-FR1: Passenger Train Exterior Side Door Safety

Newport Sensors, Inc. 
Wireless Sensing and Warning System (WS2) for Passenger Train Door Safety
New York, NY

PI: Masato Mizuta
info@newportsensors.com

21-FR2: Wheel Measuring Device

ADA Technologies, Inc. 
Micro-Scale, High-Accuracy, Photogrammetry Equipment (MSHAPE)
Littleton, CO

PI: Karl Reinig
karlr@adatech.com

Synetics Systems Engineering
Wheel Inspector
Corona, CA

PI: Simon Bourne
ssecorp@earthlink.net

21-FT1: Robots for Unmanned Disinfection and Decontamination of Transit Assets

Advent Innovations Limited Company
Fully Autonomous Omnidirectional Adaptive Robots for the Disinfection and Decontamination of Transit Assets
Columbia, SC

PI: Mohammadsadegh Sadatzi
saadatzims@adventinnous.com

21-FT2: Using Artificial Intelligence (AI) to Inspect, Repair and Sanitize Transit Vehicles

Interphase Materials, Inc. 
Artificial Intelligence Enabled Risk Assessment Tool for Condition-Based Sanitization of Public Transit Vehicles
Pittsburgh, PA

PI: Noah Snyder
noahsnyder@interphasematerials.com

Preteckt
Artificial Intelligence for Maintenance on Buses (AIM on Bus)
Memphis, TN

PI: Krish Inbarajan
krish@preteckt.com

21-NH1: Securing Safe Passage when Crossing a Roadway to Board Buses

HAAS, Inc. 
Child Safety Using Optical and V2X Digital Alerting Technology to Bring School Buses and Students on the Vehicle Grid for Collision Prevention
Chicago, IL

PI: Cory Hohs
cory@haasalert.com

International Electronic Machines Corporation
Illuminated Virtual Crosswalk and Threat Detection System
Troy, NY

PI: Marc Pearlman
mpearlman@iem.net

21-NH2: Ignition Interlock Device Data-Integrated Mobile Device App

Design Interactive, Inc. 
Mobile Intoxication management Tool (MIT)
Orlando, FL

PI: Brent Winslow
Brent.winslow@designinteractive.net

21-PH1: Lithium Ion Battery Packaging

Energy Storage Safety Products International, LLC
Battery Logistics Integrated Safety System (BLISS)
Detroit, MI

PI: Ronald Butler
ron@esspi.com

Marine Fire Systems, LLC
Active Termination of Lithium-Ion Battery Fires and Thermal Runaway
Green Bay, WI

PI: Don Murray
dmurray@marinefiresystems.com

 

Last updated: Thursday, May 13, 2021