USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Fiscal Year 2020 Awards

FY20 Solicitation Phase I Awards

Topic Title Award Information
Physical Intervention System for Wrong-way Driving on Ramps (20-FH1)

RS Solutions - Scottsdale, AZ
RF Viper System for Wrong-Way Drivers
PI: Jay Berens
Email: Jay.Berens@RSSolutionsinc.com


Traffic & Parking Control Co., Inc. (TAPCO) - Brown Deer, WI
TAPCO Physical Intervention Solution for Wrong-way Drivers on Ramps
PI: Mike Long
Email: michael.long@tapconet.com 

Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System (20-FH2)

Acrow Bridge - Parsippany, NJ
Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System
PI: Scott Patterson
Email: spatterson@acrow.com


Precast Systems Engineering - Exmore, VA
Modular Lightweight Composite Deck
PI: JP Binard
Email: jp.binard@precastsystemsengineering.com 

Real-time Monitoring and Modeling of Scour (20-FH3) Genex Systems LLC - Newport News, VA
Advancing Bathymetry and Streamflow Survey to Real-Time Scour Prediction: An Automated Algorithm
PI: Chao Huang
Email: chuang@genexsystems.com 
Autonomous Track Inspection Technology (20-FR1) No recommendations for award.
Artificial Intelligence (AI)-Aided Machine Vision for Grade Crossing Safety (20-FR2)

VisioStack Inc. - Greenville, SC
Autonomous Video Inspection System (AVIS)
PI: Joshua Doran
Email: jdoran@visiostack.com


Wi-Tronix, LLC - Bolingbrook, IL
Artificial Intelligence for Monitoring Crossing Infrastructure and to Improve Grade Crossing Safety
PI: Jagadeeswaran Rathinavel
Email: jag.rathinavel@wi-tronix.com

Platform Edge Proximity Detection to Prevent Inadvertent Passenger Car Door Opening (20-FR3) Newport Sensors, Inc. - New York, NY
Intelligent Door Operation System (IDOS)
PI: Masato Mizuta
Email: info@newportsensors.com 
Crushed Aggregate Gradation Evaluation System (20-FR4)

Oceanit Laboratories Inc. - Honolulu, HI
AIM-Rail (AI Measurements for Railroad Aggregate)
PI: Mark Kimura
Email: mkimura@oceanit.com


Sanchez Engineering Services - Alexandria, VA
Sensor Enhanced Mobile Aggregate Evaluation using Computer Vision
PI: Michael Sanchez
Email: michael@sanchezeng.com 

In-Vehicle Occupant Detection System (20-NH1) Zeteo Tech, Inc. - Sykesville, MD
Development of ZTF Occupant Detection System
PI: Wayne Bryden
Email: wayne.bryden@gmail.com 
Development and Validation of Inline Inspection (ILI) Technologies for Circumferential Anomalies and Bending Stresses (20-PH1)

Creare - Hanover, NH
Robust, Field-Ready, Inline Tool for the Accurate Measurement of Pipe Bending Stresses and Crack Detection
PI: Francisco Valentin
Email: fiv@creare.com


JENTEK Sensors Inc. - Marlborough, MA
MWM Array Bending Stress and Crack Detection In-Line Inspection Module
PI: Todd Dunford
Email: Todd.Dunford@jenteksensors.com 


ULC Robotics - Hauppauge, NY
Inline-Inspection for Both Circumferential Cracking and Axial Stress Using EMAT Guided Wave
PI: Baiyang Ren
Email: bren@ulcrobotics.com 

Internal Repair of Steel Transmission Pipelines (20-PH2) QuakeWrap, Inc. - Tucson, AZ
No-Dig Point Repair Technology for Steel O&G Pipelines
PI: Veysel "Firat" Sever
Email: fsever@quakewrap.com 
Geohazard Identification and Quantification for Pipeline Risk Models (20-PH3)

Applied Engineering Management Corporation - Herndon, VA
Managing Geohazards - Quantitative Risk Assessment for Pipelines
PI: Kelley Pecheux
Email: kelley.pecheux@aemcorp.com


Paulsson, Inc. - Van Nuys, CA
Fiber Optic Sensors for Direct Pipeline Monitoring Under Geohazard Conditions
PI: Bjorn Paulsson
Email: bjorn.paulsson@paulsson.com 

Scaling up of Composite Metal Foam Manufacturing for HazMat Packaging (20-PH4)

Advanced Materials Manufacturing, LLC - Raleigh, NC
Scaling up of Composite Metal Foam Manufacturing for HazMat Packaging and Transportation
PI: Craig Bobetich
Email: craig.bobetich@advancemnm.com


Intelligent Optical Systems, Inc. - Torrance, CA
Additively Manufactured Metal Foam Rail Tank Car Structures
PI: Paul DiCarmine
Email: pauld@intopsys.com


Powdermet Inc. - Euclid, OH
Scalable Manufacture of Energy Absorbing Composite Metal Foams
PI: Dr. Brian Werry
Email: bwerry@powdermetinc.com 

FY20 Solicitation Phase II/IIB Awards

Topic Title Award Information
Driver Engagement/Status Monitoring Technologies for Vehicle Automation Applications (15.1-FH1)

Soar Technology Inc. - Ann Arbor, MI
Driver's Assistant for Intelligent SafetY (DAISY)
PI: Jacob Crossman
Email: j.crossman@soartech.com 

Roadway Hazard Alert System for Motorcycles (15.1-FH3)

Charles River Analytics – Cambridge, MA
Bayesian Assessments and Real-Time Rider Alerting and Cueing for Upcoming Danger Avoidance (BARRACUDA)
PI: Alex Negri
Email: anegri@cra.com 

Technological Enhancements to Improve and Expand Casual Carpooling Systems (16.1-FH1)

Applied Engineering Management Corporation - Herndon, VA
Technological Enhancements to Improve and Expand Casual Carpooling
PI: Kelley Pecheux
Email: kelley.pecheux@aemcorp.com 

Resilient Wayside Structures to Reduce Severity of Passenger Equipment Collisions and Derailments (17.1-FR3)

Protection Engineering Consultants - San Antonio, TX
Resilient Wayside Structures to Reduce Severity of Passenger Equipment Collisions and Derailments
PI: Eric Sammarco
Email: esammarco@protection-consultants.com 

Drone-Based Track Change Detection (180-FR4)

Noble Drone Services, LLC – Springfield, VA
Demonstration of Image-Based Change Detection using a Prototype Drone-Based Track Safety Inspection System
PI: Herbert Henderson
Email: henderson.jeff@flynobledrones.com 

Innovative Techniques for Nondestructive Determination of Fracture Toughness for Pipeline Steels in Transportation Infrastructure (180-PH1)

FBS, Inc. - Bellefonte PA
NDT of Fracture Toughness for Pipeline Steel
PI: Cody Borigo
Email: cborigo@gwultrasonics.com 

Vehicle Communication via Induction Paint (190-FH1)

NanoSonic - Pembroke, VA
Highway Induction Paint to Enable Safety Messaging
PI: Richard Claus
Email: roclaus@nanosonic.com


Nanohmics - Austin, TX
Conformal, Peel-and-Stick Ferrite Waveguide Embedded in Road Striping
PI: Andrew Foley
Email: afoley@nanohmics.com

Improved Condition Monitoring of Traction Motors (190-FR5)

Forcing Function - Montgomery Village, MD
Investigation of Traction Motor Failure Modes and Monitoring Methods
PI: Girija Subramaniam
Email: girija@forcingfunction.org 

Automated, Drone-Based Grade Crossing Inspection (190-FR6)

 

MTRI - Ann Arbor, MI
Automated, Drone-Based Grade Crossing Inspection
PI: Colin Brooks
Email: cbrooksmtriinc@gmail.com 


VisioStack - Greenville, SC
Aerial Crossing Inspection System (AXIS)
PI: Joshua Doran
Email: jdoran@visiostack.com 

Automated Driving Systems (ADS) Test Data Interface (190-NH1)

SEA Ltd. - Columbus, OH
Automated Driving Systems (ADS) Test Data Interface
PI: Gary Heydinger
Email: gheydinger@sealimited.com 

Last updated: Thursday, December 9, 2021