Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

FY20 Phase I Awards

FY20 Solicitation Phase I Awards

Award Information
Physical Intervention System for Wrong-way Driving on Ramps (20-FH1)

RS Solutions
24200 N. Alma School Road
Scottsdale, AZ

RF Viper System for Wrong-Way Drivers

PI: Jay Berens
Email: Jay.Berens@RSSolutionsinc.com

Traffic & Parking Control Co., Inc. (TAPCO)
5100 W Brown Deer Road
Brown Deer, WI

TAPCO Physical Intervention Solution for Wrong-way Drivers on Ramps

PI: Mike Long
Email: michael.long@tapconet.com

Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System (20-FH2)

Acrow Bridge
181 New Road
Parsippany, NJ

Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System

PI: Scott Patterson
Email: spatterson@acrow.com

Precast Systems Engineering
5320 Chesawadox Drive
Exmore, VA

Modular Lightweight Composite Deck

PI: JP Binard
Email: jp.binard@precastsystemsengineering.com

Real-time Monitoring and Modeling of Scour (20-FH3)

Genex Systems LLC
11848 Rock Landing Drive, Suite 303
Newport News, VA

Advancing Bathymetry and Streamflow Survey to Real-Time Scour Prediction: An Automated Algorithm

PI: Chao Huang
Email: chuang@genexsystems.com

Autonomous Track Inspection Technology (20-FR1)

No recommendations for award. 

Artificial Intelligence (AI)-Aided Machine Vision for Grade Crossing Safety (20-FR2)

VisioStack Inc.
1 Creekview Court, Suite A
Greenville, SC

Autonomous Video Inspection System (AVIS)

PI: Joshua Doran
Email: jdoran@visiostack.com

Wi-Tronix, LLC
631 E Boughton Road, Suite 240
Bolingbrook, IL

Artificial Intelligence for Monitoring Crossing Infrastructure and to Improve Grade Crossing Safety

PI: Jagadeeswaran Rathinavel
Email: jag.rathinavel@wi-tronix.com

Platform Edge Proximity Detection to Prevent Inadvertent Passenger Car Door Opening (20-FR3)

Newport Sensors, Inc.
261 W 112th Street, 6F
New York, NY

Intelligent Door Operation System (IDOS)

PI: Masato Mizuta
Email: info@newportsensors.com

Crushed Aggregate Gradation Evaluation System (20-FR4)

Oceanit Laboratories Inc.
828 Fort Street Mall, Suite 600
Honolulu, HI

AIM-Rail (AI Measurements for Railroad Aggregate)

PI: Mark Kimura
Email: mkimura@oceanit.com

Sanchez Engineering Services
100 S Iris Street
Alexandria, VA

Sensor Enhanced Mobile Aggregate Evaluation using Computer Vision

PI: Michael Sanchez
Email: michael@sanchezeng.com

In-Vehicle Occupant Detection System (20-NH1)

Zeteo Tech, Inc.
6935 Warfield Avenue
Sykesville, MD

Development of ZTF Occupant Detection System

PI: Wayne Bryden
Email: wayne.bryden@gmail.com

Development and Validation of Inline Inspection (ILI) Technologies for Circumferential Anomalies and Bending Stresses (20-PH1)

Creare
16 Great Hollow Road
Hanover, NH

Robust, Field-Ready, Inline Tool for the Accurate Measurement of Pipe Bending Stresses and Crack Detection

PI: Francisco Valentin
Email: fiv@creare.com

JENTEK Sensors Inc.
121 Bartlett Street
Marlborough, MA

MWM Array Bending Stress and Crack Detection In-Line Inspection Module

PI: Todd Dunford
Email: Todd.Dunford@jenteksensors.com

ULC Robotics
88 Arkay Drive
Hauppauge, NY

Inline-Inspection for Both Circumferential Cracking and Axial Stress Using EMAT Guided Wave

PI: Baiyang Ren
Email: bren@ulcrobotics.com

Internal Repair of Steel Transmission Pipelines (20-PH2)

QuakeWrap, Inc.
6840 S. Tucson Boulevard
Tucson, AZ

No-Dig Point Repair Technology for Steel O&G Pipelines

PI: Veysel "Firat" Sever
Email: fsever@quakewrap.com

Geohazard Identification and Quantification for Pipeline Risk Models (20-PH3)

Applied Engineering Management Corporation
13880 Dulles Corner Lane, Suite 300
Herndon, VA

Managing Geohazards - Quantitative Risk Assessment for Pipelines

PI: Kelley Pecheux
Email: kelley.pecheux@aemcorp.com

Paulsson, Inc.
16543 Arminta Street
Van Nuys, CA

Fiber Optic Sensors for Direct Pipeline Monitoring Under Geohazard Conditions

PI: Bjorn Paulsson
Email: bjorn.paulsson@paulsson.com

Scaling up of Composite Metal Foam Manufacturing for HazMat Packaging (20-PH4)

Advanced Materials Manufacturing, LLC
3012 Cypress Knee Court
Raleigh, NC

Scaling up of Composite Metal Foam Manufacturing for HazMat Packaging and Transportation

PI: Craig Bobetich
Email: craig.bobetich@advancemnm.com

Intelligent Optical Systems, Inc.
2520 W. 237th Street
Torrance, CA

Additively Manufactured Metal Foam Rail Tank Car Structures

PI: Paul DiCarmine
Email: pauld@intopsys.com

Powdermet Inc.
24112 Rockwell Drive
Euclid, OH

Scalable Manufacture of Energy Absorbing Composite Metal Foams

PI: Dr. Brian Werry
Email: bwerry@powdermetinc.com

Last updated: Tuesday, August 4, 2020