USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Fiscal Year 2022 SBIR Awards

FY22 Solicitation Phase I Awards

Topic Title Award Information
Enforcement of Bridge Load Postings using Nondestructive Evaluation Techniques (22-FH1) Connected Wise LLC - Orlando, FL
Obtaining Accurate Traffic Loading using Bridge Weigh-In-Motion Technology
PI Name: Farhad Huseynov
PI Email: farhad@connected-wise.com 
AI Video Analysis of Dilemma Zone and Other Conflicts at Signal Controlled Intersections (22-FH2)

Aiwaysion Inc. - Bellevue, WA
Edge Server-Based AI Application for Dilemma Zone and Traffic Conflict Events Detection
PI Name: Wei Sun
PI Email: wsun@aiwaysion.com


Innovative AI Technologies LLC - Newark, NJ
Innovative AI Video Analysis of Dilemma Zone Conflicts at Signal-Controlled Intersections using Edge Computing and 5G
PI Name: Hang Shi
PI Email: hang@iaitusa.com 

Concrete Curing Quantification (22-FH3)

Sciperio, Inc. - Orlando, FL
An Innovative Wireless Sensing Technology for Concrete Curing Quantification
PI Name: Kenneth Church
PI Email: khc@sciperio.com 

Reduction of Transit Bus Collisions with Other Vehicles 
(22-FT1)
Tranalytics, LLC - Bedford, MA
A Data-Driven Multi-Perspective Solution for Improving Transit Bus Safety
PI Name: David Raucci
PI Email: draucci@tranalytics.us 
Connecting Individuals in “Food Deserts” to Healthy Foods (22-FT2)

SPLUSM LLC - Orlando, FL
Combat Food Desert: Smart Access to Healthy Food
PI Name: Samira Ahangari
PI Email: samira.ahangari@morgan.edu 

Blockchain-Enabled Transit Incentivization (22-FT3)

Right Click Solutions Inc. (d.b.a. RideAmigos) - Santa Monica, CA
Optimizing Demand for Transit with Blockchain-Enabled Commuter Support
PI Name: Corey Tucker
PI Email: corey@rideamigos.com 

Tools and Applications Towards Moving to Zero Emissions (22-FT4)

ReVolt Battery Technology, Corp. - Houston, TX
Optobus – A Multivariable Integrated Electric Bus Evaluation Method and Tool for Mass Transit
PI Name: Jan Naidu
PI Email: jan.naidu@revoltbatterytechnology.com 

Nondestructive, Streamlined Testing and Monitoring of Metal Cylinders and Tanks to Prevent Packaging Failure (22-PH1)

MCET Technologies - Newark, DE
Live and Continuous Monitoring of Metal Cylinders and Tanks using Distributed Carbon Nanomaterial-Based Sensing Networks
PI Name: Lance Bryan
PI Email: dbryan@mcetsensors.com 

Autonomous Vehicle Leak Detectors (22-PH2)

Adelphi Technology, Inc. - Redwood City, CA
Compact Broadband Leak Detector for Autonomous Vehicles
PI Name: Jay Cremer
PI Email: ted@adelphitech.com 

Vibration Sensing System to Monitor for Potential Excavation Damage (22-PH3)

Intellisense Systems, Inc. - Torrance, CA
Fiber-Optic Excavation Monitoring Sensor System
PI Name: Chung-Yen Chao
PI Email: proposals@intellisenseinc.com 

Underground Natural Gas Storage (UNGS) Advanced Leak Identification and Well Control Solutions (22-PH4) Oceanit Laboratories, Inc - Honolulu, HI
Smart Well Assessment and Reservoir Management System (SWARMS)
PI Name: Glen Nakafuji
PI Email: gnakafuji@oceanit.com 

FY22 Solicitation Phase II Awards

Topic Title

Award Information

Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System (20-FH2)

Acrow Corporation of America - Parsippany, NJ
Innovative Layered Composite Metal Deck System
PI: Scott Patterson
Email: spatterson@acrow.com 

Device for Assessing Environmental Impact of Post-Consumer Waste Plastic in Highway and Airfield Materials and Pavements (21-FH1)

Optowares, Inc. - Woburn, MA
Autonomous, In-Situ Fugitive Microplastic Detector and Datalogger
PI: Noah Kolodziejski
Email: nkolodziejski@optowares.com

In-situ Determination of Pore Solution Resistivity (21-FH2)

Callentis Consulting Group, LLC - Austin, TX
In-situ Determination of Pore Solution Resistivity
PI: Andrii Drach
Email: andrew@callentis.io 

Reference Hardware for Infrastructure GPS Abnormality Detector for Connected and Automated Vehicle Applications (21-FH4)

Integrated Solutions for Systems - Huntsville, AL
GPS Anomaly Detection System
PI: David Hodo
Email: David.hodo@is4s.com

Coherent Technical Services, Inc. - Lexington Park, MD
Assured Connected and Automated Vehicle (CV/AV) Navigation
PI: Nathan Green
Email: nathan.green@goctsi.com

Automated Vehicles: Deployment of Traffic Warning Devices (Triangles) (21-FM1)

Creare LLC - Hanover, NH
An Automated Traffic Warning Device Deployment System for Autonomous Vehicles
PI: Benjamin Cameron
Email: bhc@creare.com

Readiness Assessment Technology (21-FM2)

Pulsar Informatics, Inc. - Seattle, WA
PVT DriveFit - A System to Deliver an Objective Quantifiable Measure of Driver Alertness
PI: Daniel Mollicone
Email: daniel@pulsarinformatics.com

Design Interactive, Inc. - Orlando, FL
Greenlight
PI: Emily Mills
Email: emily.mills@designinteractive.net 

Passenger Train Exterior Side Door Safety (21-FR1) Newport Sensors, Inc. - New York, NY
Wireless Sensing and Warning System (WS2) for Passenger Train Door Safety
PI: Masato Mizuta
Email: info@newportsensors.com
Wheel Measuring Device (21-FR2)

Synetics Systems Engineering - Corona, CA
Wheel Inspector
PI: Simon Bourne
Email: ssecorp@earthlink.net

ADA Technologies, Inc. - Littleton, CO
Micro-Scale, High-Accuracy, Photogrammetry Equipment (MSHAPE)
PI: Karl Reinig
Email: karlr@adatech.com

Robots for Unmanned Disinfection and Decontamination of Transit Assets (21-FT1)

Advent Innovations Limited Company - Columbia, SC
Fully Autonomous Omnidirectional Adaptive Robots for the Disinfection and Decontamination of Transit Assets
PI: Shawn Beard
Email: shawnb@adventinnous.com 

Using Artificial Intelligence (AI) to Inspect, Repair and Sanitize Transit Vehicles (21-FT2)

Interphase Materials, Inc. - Pittsburgh, PA
Artificial Intelligence Enabled Risk Assessment Tool for Condition-Based Sanitization of Public Transit Vehicles
PI: Noah Snyder
Email: noahsnyder@interphasematerials.com 

Securing Safe Passage when Crossing a Roadway to Board Buses (21-NH1)

International Electronic Machines Corporation - Troy, NY
Illuminated Virtual Crosswalk and Threat Detection System
PI: Marc Pearlman
Email: mpearlman@iem.net

HAAS, Inc. - Chicago, IL
Child Safety Using Optical and V2X Digital Alerting Technology to Bring School Buses and Students on the Vehicle Grid for Collision Prevention
PI: Lisa Robinson
Email: lisa@haasalert.com 

Ignition Interlock Device Data-Integrated Mobile Device App (21-NH2)

Design Interactive, Inc. - Orlando, FL
Mobile Intoxication management Tool (MIT)
PI: Brent Winslow
Email: Brent.winslow@designinteractive.net

Lithium Ion Battery Packaging (21-PH1)

Energy Storage Safety Products International, LLC - Detroit, MI
Battery Logistics Integrated Safety System (BLISS)
PI: Ronald Butler
Email: ron@esspi.com 

Last updated: Monday, October 31, 2022