You are here

FY17 Phase I and Phase II Awards

17.1 Phase I Awards

Awardee Information

Topic Number

PhosphorTech Corporation
3645 Kennesaw North Industrial Pkwy.
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Broad Spectrum Absorption-Fluorescence Method for Determining Adsorption Capacity of Fly Ash

PI: Yongjun Chen
Email: yongjun@phosphortech.com

17.1-FH1

Creare, LLC
16 Great Hollow Road
Hanover, NH 03755-3116

Real-Time, In-Situ Measurement of Void Fraction and Specific Surface in Fresh Concrete

PI: Marc C. Ramsey
Email: mcr@creare.com

17.1-FH2

Dynaflow, Inc.
10621-J Iron Bridge Road
Jessup, MD 20794

Development of an Acoustic Method for Rapid Assessment of Air Void System in Fresh Concrete

PI: Xiongjun Wu
Email: wxj@dynaflow-inc.com

17.1-FH2

Intelligent Automation, Inc. 
15400 Calhoun Drive, Suite 190
Rockville, MD 20855

Basalt Fiber Reinforced Polymer for Railway Wood Ties Remanufacturing (BFRP-WTR)

PI: George Zhao
Email: xzhao@i-a-i.com

17.1-FR1

Migma Systems Inc. 
1600 Providence Highway
Walpole, MA 02081

A Robust Railway Track Crack Detection System Using Thermal Signatures

PI: Bo Ling
Email: bling@migmasys.com

17.1-FR2

Creare, LLC
16 Great Hollow Road
Hanover, NH 03755

RailMonitor: Real-Time Broken Rail Detection System

PI: David B. Kynor
Email: dbk@creare.com

17.1-FR2

Protection Engineering Consultants
1100 NW Loop 410, Suite 300
San Antonio, TX 78213

Resilient Wayside Structures and Passenger Car Survivability

PI: David Stevens
Email: dstevens@protection-consultants.com

17.1-FR3

CLR Analytics, Inc.
8885 Research Drive, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92618

TrainAid: A Smart Onboard Railroad Passenger Information and Entertainment System

PI: Lianyu Chu
Email: lchu@clr-analytics.com

17.1-FR4

InfoBeyond Technology, LLC 
320 Whittington Pkwy. s/117
Louisville, KY 4022

SCRIPT: Safety Critical, Real-time, Intelligent Passenger Transport App for Smartphones via Always-on Global Internet Connection

PI: Bin Xie
Email: bin.xie@infobeyondtech.com

17.1-FR4

ARCON Corporation
260 Bear Hill Rd. Suite 200
Waltham, MA 02451

Crowding Information Collection and Dissemination System

PI: Dr. Siva Sivananthan
Email: siva@arcon.com

17.1-FT1

N2 Biomedical, LLC
One Patriots Park
Bedford, MA 01730

Driver breath measurement of marijuana intoxication by infrared spectroscopy

PI:  Kurt J. Linden
Email: klinden@n2bio.com

17.1-NH1

Giner, Inc.
89 Rumford Avenue
Newton, MA 02466-1311

Detection of THC Use in Drivers

PI: Badawi M. Dweik
Email: bdweik@ginerinc.com

17.1-NH1

Navitas Advanced Solutions Group, LLC 
4880 Venture Drive Suite 100
Ann Arbor, MI 48108-9559

System and Supply Chain for Recycling Lithium-ion batteries in the Transportation System

PI: Roger Trackwell
Email: rtrackwell@navitassys.com

17.1-OST-R1

NanoSonic, Inc.
158 Wheatland Drive
Pembroke, VA 24136

Repurposing Lithium Ion Batteries for Light Duty Stationary Applications

PI: Dr. Carleen Bowers
Email: CBowers@NanoSonic.com

17.1-OST-R1

FY17 Phase II/IIB Awards

Awardee Information

Topic Number

Advanced Technology and Research Corp. (Phase IIB) 
6650 Eli Whitney Drive, s/400
Columbia, MD 21046-1701

Low Ground Clearance Vehicle Detection and Warning System

PI: Eric C. Hui
Email: ehui@atrcorp.com

13.1-FR1-009

Applied Engineering Management Corp. 
13880 Dulles Corner Lane, s/300
Herndon, VA 20171

Technological Enhancements to Improve and Expand Casual Carpooling in New Corridors

PI: Kelley Klayer Pecheux
Email: Kelley.pecheux@aemcorp.com

16.1-FH1-015

Benten Technologies, Inc. 
13996 Parkeast Cir. Ste 105
Chantilly, VA 20151-4248

Train Reporting And Inspection INdex (TRAIN)

PI: Tony Ma
Email: tonyma@bententech.com

15.1-FR5-007

Charles River Analytics Inc.
625 Mount Auburn St.
Cambridge, MA 02138

Bolstering Awareness with Real-Time Rider Alerting and Cueing for Upcoming Danger Avoidance (BARRACUDA)

PI: Dr. Michael P. Jenkins
Email: mjenkins@cra.com

15.1-FH3-005

Charles River Analytics Inc.
625 Mount Auburn St.
Cambridge, MA 02138

Connected Bicycle: Communicating with Vehicles and Infrastructure

PI: Dr. Michael P. Jenkins
Email: mjenkins@cra.com

16.1-FH2-020

Creare, LLC
16 Great Hollow Road
Hanover, NH 03755

Improved Thermal and Acoustic Comfort for Motorcycle Helmets

PI: Benjamin H. Cameron
Email: bhc@creare.com

15.1-NH1-014

dFuzion, Inc. 
21536 Iredell Terrace
Ashburn, VA 20148-5032

Ride Performance Assessment System (RPAS)

PI: Treasa Parakkat
Email: tparakkat@dfuzion.com

15.1-FR9-004

Integrated Global Dimensions LLC 
12850 W. Bluff Road
Malcolm, NE 68402-9650

Community College – Technical School Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Curricula

PI: Valerie D. Lefler
Email: valerie.lefler@integratedgolobaldimensions.com

15.1-FH2-003

Koo and Associates International, LLC 
6402 Needham Lane
Austin, TX 78739

Development of Innovative Welding for High Performance Bridge Steel

PI: Ben Rech
Email: ben.rech59@gmail.com

13.2-FH1-003

M42 Technologies, LLC
8043 Ashworth Avenue N
Seattle, WA 98103

Development of Commercial Space Vehicle Tracking with ADS-B

PI: Nestor Voronka
Email: NVoronka@M42Tech.com

14.2-FA1-013

Novateur Research Solutions, LLC 
202 Church Street s/307
Leesburg, VA 20175-3032

Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection Devices for Transit Buses

PI: Khurrram Hassan-Shafique
Email: kshafique@novateurresearch.com

16.1-FT1-007

Rapid Flow Technologies, LLC 
362 Guys Run Road
Cheswick, PA 15024-4300

Automated parking-cruising detection and measurement using Bluetooth AVI Sensor network

PI: Gregory J. Barlow
Email: gjb@rapidflowtech.com

14.2-FH2-008

Sharma & Associates, Inc. 
5810 South Grant Street
Hinsdale, IL 60521

Wireless Compatible Digital Train Line (WiDTL) for Passenger Type Vehicles in a Train Consist

PI: David Brabb
Email: dbrabb@sharma-associates.com

15.1-FR1-003

Soar Technology Inc.                                                        
3600 Green Court, s/600
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Driver Assistant for Intelligent Safety (DAISY)

PI: Jacob Crossman
Email: jcrossman@soartech.com

15.1-FH1-009

Technical Products, Inc.
50 Pratts Junction Road
Sterling, MA 01564

Moving Equipment Danger Personal Alert System (MEDPAS)

PI: Paul Chambers
Email: paul.chambers@technicalproductsinc.us

15.1-FR2-001
Updated: Tuesday, May 8, 2018