You are here

Michael G. Whitaker

Michael G. Whitaker is the deputy administrator for the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). United States Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood swore him into office on June 3, 2013.

Whitaker is responsible for helping to ensure the safe and efficient operations of the largest aerospace system in the world. This includes more than 50,000 daily operations, as well as enforcing safety standards for all equipment and aerospace professionals within the aviation industry. Whitaker also serves as the chief NextGen officer and is responsible for the development and implementation of FAA's Next Generation Air Transportation System (NextGen). NextGen is an air traffic control modernization program that is shifting from ground-based radar to state-of-the-art satellite technology.

Whitaker is a seasoned aviation executive with extensive business, regulatory, legal, and international experience. He is well versed in general and commercial aviation and has led collaborative efforts and joint ventures to promote aviation safety and has enhanced performance and profitability, fostered alliances, and improved corporate governance. In addition, Whitaker has vast finance and marketing experience, which includes tracking key performance metrics and achieving identified goals and objectives.

Before joining the FAA, Whitaker most recently served as a board member and business development consultant for InterGlobe Enterprises from 2011 to 2012. Prior to this, he was a group chief executive officer within InterGlobe Enterprises from 2009 to 2011. From 1994 to 2009, Whitaker served at United Airlines, most recently as senior vice president for Alliances, International, and Regulatory Affairs. Prior to that, he served at Trans World Airlines from 1991 to 1994, most recently as assistant general counsel for Regulatory and International Affairs.

Whitaker received a BA from the University of Louisville and a JD from the Georgetown University Law Center.

Updated: Thursday, September 18, 2014