USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

New England Transportation Forum: Freight Issues

The New England Transportation Forum brought together U.S. DOT and state DOT leaders and industry experts.

The forum provided an opportunity for these leaders and other transportation professionals to:

  • meet with their peers and engage in discussions regarding freight issues affecting the region
  • strategize about best practices and coordination opportunities 

Event Agenda

8:30 – 9:00 a.m. Coffee
9:00 – 9:10 a.m.

Welcoming Remarks

Robert Johns, Volpe Director

9:10 – 9:45 a.m.

Federal Freight Provisions, Policies, and Incentives

Caitlin Rayman, Director, Office of Freight Management and Operations, FHWA

9:45 – 10:45 a.m.

National Freight Trends at the Regional Scale

Moderator: George Schoener, Executive Director, I-95 Corridor Coalition

  • Mark Giuffre, Vice President, State Government Affairs, UPS
  • Dennis Coffey, Manager, HNTB
  • Michael Leone, Senior Maritime Director, HNTB
  • Neil Boudreau, State Traffic Engineer, Massachusetts DOT
  • Lance Grenzeback, Senior Vice President, Cambridge Systematics
10:45 – 10:50 a.m. Break
10:50 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

New England State DOT Leadership Panel: Opportunities for Coordination and Cooperation

Moderator: Robert Johns, Volpe Director

  • James Redeker, Commissioner, Connecticut DOT
  • Michael P. Lewis, Director, Rhode Island DOT
  • Sue Minter, Deputy Secretary, Vermont AOT
  • Frank DePaola, Acting Secretary, Massachusetts DOT
  • Patrick C. Herlihy, Director of Aeronautics, Rail, and Transit, New Hampshire DOT
  • Nathan Moulton, Director, Rail Program, Maine DOT
12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Lunch
1:00 – 1:30 p.m.

Facing Challenges of Global Competition at the Regional Scale

Moderator: Anne Aylward, Deputy Director, Volpe Center

  • Thomas Glynn, Executive Director, Massachusetts Port Authority
1:30 – 2:45 p.m.

Roundtable Discussion with U.S. DOT: Critical Single and Multimodal Freight Safety Initiatives

Moderator: Caitlin Rayman, Director, Office of Freight Management and Operations, FHWA

  • Kenneth Miller, Assistant Division Administrator, FHWA
  • Richard Bates, Regional Administrator, FMCSA
  • Les Fiorenzo, Regional Administrator, FRA
2:45 – 3:00 p.m. Break
3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Planning for Sustainability and Resilience in the Regional Freight System

Moderator: Michael Dinning, Director, Transportation Logistics and Security, Volpe Center

  • Captain Jeff Flumignan, Director, North Atlantic Gateway Office, MARAD
  • Abby Swaine, SmartWay Transport & Clean Diesel Freight, New England Region, EPA
  • Dr. Alexis Bateman, Research Associate, Center for Transportation & Logistics, MITAbby Swaine, SmartWay Transport & Clean Diesel Freight, New England Region, EPA
4:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Recap and Looking Ahead

Anne Aylward, Volpe Deputy Director

4:30 p.m. Adjourn